3D Printer Optional?

I must confess.  I’m considering getting a 3D printer.  I know, I know, I said it wasn’t necessary.  And it isn’t.  And I just submitted a proposal for a panel presentation in the fall at the Pennsylvania Library Association’s annual conference entitled MakerSpaces for Kids: 3D Printer Optional.  Because, well, the glitzy star of the maker world, the 3D printer, is NOT necessary to introduce kids to creating and making and doing.

But.  There’s a new model out there that just got released.  Getting great reviews.  VERY reasonable cost – $700 assembled.  AND it looks like our Friends group may be willing to donate the funds.  Hard to resist, people.

I am also trying hard to not feel like we should be doing everything.  Coding.  Minecraft. Soldering.  And there’s so much I would like to learn – the Department of Making and Doing in Philly has a great class for newbies to learn how to use the laser cutter.  LASER CUTTER.  Who wouldn’t want to learn how to use one of those bad boys?  But I really have enough of a learning curve to keep me frantically busy.  And yet – that laser cutter class is April 22nd and is only $50 bucks.  Anybody else tempted?

Printrbot 2014

Printrbot 2014

As time marches on (gallops, really) closer to summer, I am working on getting the PR assembled – press releases, PowerPoints for school visits/assemblies, flyers, game board reading logs, registration cards, etc. John is working on a logo for KidsMake, and I am in danger of making him head for the hills with all of my “suggestions.”

Good thing I’m taking vacation in May, right?

About Tracee Yawger

Head of Children's Services, Montgomery County-Norristown Public Library
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

